The Acquired Taste Interview Featuring Kat Axtell

 IMG_7150

The Acquired Taste is a short film written for screen and directed by Chuck Jett, creator of Empty Coffin Studio Films.  It was tastefully adapted by the short story of the same title by author and producer Alexander S. Brown.  Fans can anticipate a free viewing of the film in 2017.  It is currently being shown at conventions throughout the Southern states.  Its next appearance will be at Contraflow Convention in New Orleans, LA.

IMG_8132 (1)

For the second interview from this dark comedy, I would like to grant actress Kat Axtell the stage, so that she may elaborate on her part in The Acquired Taste and her life.

  1. What made you want to be a part of The Acquired Taste?

K.A.: I wanted to be a part of “The Acquired Taste” because I enjoy Alex, as a person and as a writer, and I felt honored to showcase one of his characters.  I really loved getting to make his story come to life.

  1. What was your experience like on set?

K.A.: It was a great set to work on.  No tension or nothing negative, which I love!!!! I felt like I was around some of my best friends.

  1. What other projects have you been a part of?

K.A.: I work as an actress, as well as a production designer for movies.  Acting wise, I have been in many shorts.  I was one of the leads in the short “Harvest Night”.  Soon, I will be in a sci-fi miniseries as one of the lead roles.  Also, I will be starring and directing an upcoming short called “Request”.

  1. Are there any roles that you would turn down? Or are there any roles that would make you uncomfortable?

K.A.: I would not turn down a role.  As an actress, you do what you can for that role 100%.  Also remember this person is not you, you are playing a character.  I think people tend to forget that.

  1. What role is more fun? The victim, the hero, or the villain.  Why?

K.A.: I love playing the villain.  When playing a villain, you really have to tap into the mind of this villain.  You have to create a back story for this person and do research.  You really have to immerse yourself in your dark side.  Villains are challenging to play but very rewarding.

  1. What got you into acting?

K.A.: I sang for years and I was once at a crossroads with that.  Acting was suggested to me.  Once I got that first role, I became addicted to method acting.

  1. What are some of your favorite movies?

K.A.: This is a hard one, but I will say one of my favorites is “Psycho” by Alfred Hitchcock.  “Psycho” is a very inspiring movie from a director stand point, as well.  “Route 66” would have to be another pick. If I name any more titles, it might take all day.

  1. Who are your favorite actors/actresses? How do you draw inspiration from them?

K.A.: I don’t really have any favorites, but I watch how people become those characters, how they go from calm to crazy in a matter of seconds.  I watch for the seamless feeling an actor is supposed to give a character.

  1. Who are your favorite directors?

K.A.: This would be a long list, but some I will name is: James Wan, Quentin Tarantino, and Steven Spielberg.

  1. What future projects are you working on?

K.A.: Right now, a mini series called “The Unusual”, a short called “Requests”, and one other movie.

  1. Tell us about yourself.

K.A.: My name is Kat Axtell, I am an actress.  I also work behind the scenes as a production designer.  I direct, and do special effects.  I am a movie junkie, a book nerd, talkative, sensitive, and I love life.

Connect with Kat Axtell by clicking on the following social media names:

Facebook

Instagram

Purchase a copy of Traumatized HERE!

Watch Chuck Jett’s first short film, PINKY SWEAR HERE!

Leave a Reply

