Vampire Author Linda DeLeon Speaks of Halloween

The concept of life and death can be interpreted and philosophized in many ways.  Horror author Linda DeLeon has always fascinated me due to her outlook on these subjects and it is these subjects she speaks about in regards to Halloween.  Besides being skilled in the literary world, she has also shown amazing talents with her exploration into the realms that some shy away from, such as palm reading and tarot card divination.  It is a pleasure to introduce to you, my readers, Mrs. Linda DeLeon.

untitled

Linda DeLeon was born in Richland Parish, Louisiana. When she was nine years old, she moved to Vicksburg, MS. She now lives in Dallas, TX with her husband, Rene. Her son, Cody, lives in MS and is currently attending Hinds CC and working toward a career in medicine. Mrs. DeLeon works as a nurse in the emergency room. Taking a dare from a co-worker, she began to write. With the encouragement of her fellow nurses, their entertainment became her obsession. With writing, she could combine her love of history and her deep fascination with vampires. Her endeavors resulted in Fall into Darkness and Veil of Time.

In March, 2014, her first short story Deidless was published in the anthology Southern Haunts 2: Devils in the Darkness. Since then, she has contributed to other anthologies that will be released in 2015. Presently, she is working on the first in a series of books to be published by Pro-Se Productions. Her novels will soon be available through Dark Oak Press.

What does Halloween mean to you?

I love Halloween.  Fall is my favorite time of year.  The days get shorter and nights are longer.  There is nothing I love more than a dreary, cloudy day.  The whole atmosphere is filled with mystery.  What horrors lie just beyond that veil of dense fog.

What is your most memorable Halloween?

There are so many.  One of my favorites was when I dressed my son up for his first Halloween.  He was a black cat.

How do you celebrate Halloween today?

I decorate and watch as many horror movies as I can.  I love Syfy channel’s 31 Days of Halloween.

What was your best Halloween costume?

Most years, I am a vampire, of course.

What was your worst Halloween costume?

I’m sure there are many.

Some people believe Halloween is a negative holiday.  Why do you feel there is so much controversy in regards to this night?

People hate, discriminate, and criticize what they fear and/or do not understand.  I say all the time, and throughout history it rings true, that the basis of hate is fear.  This is an issue in which I have strong feelings about.  It is better if I do not pursue this issue further.

What do you do to keep the ghosts and ghouls away on Halloween night?

I welcome the ghosts year round.  As for the rest of the, I simply turn the porch light off.

What frightens you and why?

I have one fear – snakes.

What is your favorite scary movie?

I have many.  I love all vampire movies, unless they are cheesy.  I would have to say my two favorites are Bram Stoker’s Dracula and Sleepy Hollow.

What is your favorite horror book?

I found Stephen King’s The Stand under my desk in 8th grade.  I read it and was hooked.

Do you prefer slow burners or fast paced thrillers?

I like a lot of blood and action.  I guess my answer would be fast paced.

What inspires your more frightening work?

I tend to get aggravated easily.  My next thought would be ways to kill someone and hide their body.  I know that is not normal, but it’s me.  What can I say?  I have always felt that my life revolves around death.  Maybe that is why I see things differently than the regular person.

Do you plan to contribute to the horror genre in the future?

Most definitely. I will keep writing as long as I can.

Where can we find your work?

Right now, my books are available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.  I have just joined two new publishers: Pro Se Productions and Dark Oak Press.  When those works are available, I will list it on my website.  www.ldeleonbooks.com

Leave a Reply

